Programme Details

Programme Details

The Golden Jubilee Concert

The Golden Jubilee Concert

Start Date : 19th February 2017
A brief history of the DSM

The Delhi School of Music was established by the Delhi Music Society in 1966. It is the premier institution for the teaching of western classical music in the Capital and also provides training in jazz. Around 1400 students receive instruction from about 50 teachers for playing instruments such as the piano, guitar, violin, cello, flute, saxophone, keyboard, drums and recorder, along with voice and dance classes.

The first Director of the School was Dr. H. J. Koellreutter, a musician and composer who was also the head of the Max Mueller Bhavan in Delhi. From 1970 onwards, the School has been headed by a succession of experienced Indian teachers with qualifications in western classical music, notably Mr H.P. Palamkote, who nurtured the School for more than two decades.

After functioning out of rented premises in the initial years, the School was able to move into its own building constructed on land provided by the Government in Chanakyapuri, New Delhi. Since then the building has been expanded to add on more classrooms.

The School functions as a centre for the examinations of the Associated Board of the Royal Schools of Music, England, as well as of the Trinity College of Music, London. There is a growing emphasis not just on individual performance, but on ensemble playing, aural development and music appreciation. The staff and students of the School benefit from the workshops conducted by both visiting artistes and other musicians. Several students of the School have proceeded for higher musical studies to Moscow, London, New York, Vienna, Prague and Rome.

We are delighted to bring you a concert performance by teachers and students of the Delhi School of Music to celebrate the Golden Jubilee of the School.

Oh ! Shall I tell you, Mummy
What is tormenting me ?
Daddy wants me to reason
Like a grown-up person,
But I say that sweets
Are worth more than reasoning.

Part 1 Ah vous dirai-je maman !” (better known as “Twinkle Twinkle Little Star!”) 38'00"

Mozart Theme, “Ah vous dirai-je maman” Theme: Nainika Sebastian, Aarana Ambule, Ira Gupta, Aviaansh Goel (violins) 0'30”
H. Valiquet, “Ah vous dirai-je maman”: Rahul Shahi (piano)2'30”
Adolphe David, “Ah vous dirai-je maman” opus 26: Ashmitha Jasper (piano) 11'00”
Adolphe Blanc, “Ah vous dirai-je maman”: Aneesh Kulkarni, Harshit Verma, Ashmitha Jasper (piano) 4'00”
Hamamura Shi (Hosnm4536), “Ah vous dirai-je maman” Métamorphose de bravoure: Ojas & Tejas Mittal (piano) 9'00”
Johann Christoph Friedrich Bach (Arrangement Michel Rondeau), “Ah vous dirai-je maman”: Tomasz Pajak, Simon Rodrick, Biju Lawrence (violins), Baren Suttar (viola) 5'00”
“Ah vous dirai-je maman” Theme, improvisation: John Raphael (piano), Chewang Lama (drums), Arjun Sagar Gupta (Bass guitar) 5-6'

Part 2 From America to Europe 48'0"

Antonio Carlos Jobim, “How Insensitive”: John Raphael (piano), S. Chidambar (saxophone), Chewang Lama (drums) 3'30”
Harlod Arlen, “Over the Rainbow”: Kishore Ningthoujam (vocal), John Raphael (piano) 3'00”
Agustin Barrios Mangoré, “Zapateado Caribe”: Lallamzuala, Thomas Kaping and Tej Bahadur (guitars) 3'00”
Django Reinhardt, “Montagne Sainte-Genevieve”: Rohan Baijal (electrical guitar) & Lallamzuala (guitar) 2'30”
Meghan Trainor and John Legend, “I'm gonna lose you”: Kabuki Khanna (vocal), Akshay Saxena and Anshuman Sharma (keyboards), Noel Malekar (drums) 4'00”
Sarah McLachlan, “Angel”: Neha Singh (vocal), Anshuman Sharma (keyboard), Noel Malekar (drums) 4'00”
Frank Millward, “Stilt Dance”: Sonal Sikka (piano) 3'10”
Debussy, “En bateau” from “Petite Suite”: Ninou Kipgen & Suruchi Rani Kipgen (piano) 3'30”
Camille Saint Saens, “le Cygne” from “Le Carnaval des Animaux” arranged by Martin Packham: Lallamzuala (guitar), Tomasz Pajak (violin), ballet students of Ritika
Chandra: Sarah Singh, Vedika Gopal, Adona Martin, Jamila Roy, Myrah Chaudhuri, Joy Anika Malakar, Avisha Maini, Sahana Jethani, Anahita Pai, Nishika Choudhury 3'00”
Mozart, “Non piu andrai” from “The Marriage of Figaro”: Sidhant Seth (baryton), Philippe Engel (piano) 3'30”
Beethoven, Piano Sonata in C minor op.10 n°1: Deep Chatterjee (piano)5'00”
Gabriel Faure, “Cantique de Jean Racine”: conducted by Kevin Fox*, DSM Jubilee Choir, Cecilia Vaz (piano) 6'00
Cesar Franck, “Panis Angelicus”: conducted by Kevin Fox*, DSM Jubilee Choir, Cecilia Vaz (piano) 3'45”
(*) Kevin Fox appears thanks to Ms Neeta Helms and Classical Movements

© 2020, Delhi Music Society. All rights reserved.

Online Admission Form